Sports and God Go Together

The Summer Olympic Games will open in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil in just a couple of weeks. All the hard work and sacrifices by athletes has been done. It will be a moment where years of preparation comes down to a single sprint down the track, one routine on the balance beam,a last dive from the platform. The athletes have trained hard and now is their time to shine.

But for one team, American divers David Boudia and Steel Johnson, they will be carrying a refreshing perspective to Rio.olympics

Yeah, I’m Steel Johnson the Olympian, but at the same time I’m here to love and serve Christ. My identity is rooted in Christ.  –  Steele Johnson, Olympian 2016

These words were spoken just moments after being named to Team U.S.A. What do these words mean in the world of athleticism and gold medals?

In the words of Saint Paul in Philippians 4:12-14:

It is not that I have already taken hold of it or have already attained perfect maturity, but I continue my pursuit in hope that I may possess it, since I have indeed been taken possession of by Christ [Jesus].

Brothers, I for my part do not consider myself to have taken possession. Just one thing: forgetting what lies behind but straining forward to what lies ahead, I continue my pursuit toward the goal, the prize of God’s upward calling, in Christ Jesus.

Johnson and Boudia are blessed. They have eyes to see beyond the accolades and honors that their sport offers them to what we, as Christians, should truly hold as our greatest prize: Eternal Life in Jesus Christ.

What are your eyes set upon? What is your ultimate goal?

Let it be Jesus. His accolades and rewards will never fail you.

 

Leave a Reply

