Set Free by Jesus

This week’s readings are perfect for our preparation for Holy Week and anticipates the Resurrection of Jesus we will celebrate just two weeks from now.

In our first reading from Ezekdrybonesiel (37:12-14) we are reminded of the vision of dry bones. Old bones half submerged in sand come to mind from the old western movies. But imagine the vision of these ‘dry bones’ – a whole field full of them – coming back to life with flesh and sinew, blood pumping through veins. What an amazing sight that would be!

Our Gospel narrative is fascinating too, with Lazarus, called out of the tomb after four days, his body bound head and foot. What an amazing scene, and an amazing display of divine power!

setfreePart of the burial rite of the first century was to bind the whole body in burial cloths. This is a good image for us to examine our own lives. We may not be bound by physical bandages, but we can be bound by our sins, or by wounds (physical, moral, emotional), by a refusal to forgive or let go. These ’bandages’ inflicted on our souls keep us in the tomb, and keeps us from being free to live wholly in Christ. Jesus stands at the door of our hearts knocking, wanting to ‘roll away the stone’ that keeps us from being resurrected in our spiritual life.

Will you let him enter? Let the stone of your heart be removed, and invite Jesus to reign as Lord of your soul today.


Foucauld-31Father,
I abandon myself into your hands;
do with me what you will.
Whatever you may do, I thank you:
I am ready for all, I accept all.
Let only your will be done in me,
and in all your creatures.
I wish no more than this, O Lord.

Into your hands I commend my soul;
I offer it to you
with all the love of my heart,
for I love you, Lord,
and so need to give myself,
to surrender myself into your hands,
without reserve,
and with boundless confidence,
for you are my Father.


Come join us for the tradition of the Living Stations of the Cross, an event you do not want to miss!

INVITE

 

Leave a Reply

